Kaya-chan wa Kowakunai Ep.12 - Chie good ending! Namu was cool too.

March 29, 2026 · 10:43 AM

Episode 12 of Kaya-chan wa Kowakunai (Kaya-chan isn't Scary) concludes the story with the happy ending everyone expected, although it leaves some doubts regarding how quickly the characters accepted the outcome. The story picks up where we left off, with Mirai heading toward the Ebisumori main house to exact her vengeance.

She was completely deranged, and the series makes it clear that this was not just the influence of the wraith; she genuinely believed her actions were justified. At one point, she even tried to harm Kaya, only to be saved at the last moment by Namu, who recovered his psychic powers thanks to Mutsu.

Happy end for everyone, Kaya looking ultra cute here. But what was that face at the very end? New enemies or some other mystery?
Happy end for everyone, Kaya looking ultra cute here. But what was that face at the very end? New enemies or some other mystery?
Nana showing off the power of money from the Ebisumori family. Poor Chie she can't understand on a teacher salary
Nana showing off the power of money from the Ebisumori family. Poor Chie she can't understand on a teacher salary

Mutsu, as expected, had allowed Mirai to leave the house willingly years ago because she did not want anything bad to happen to her. She loved her children and hoped to dismantle the entire system built by the Ebisumori family. Given how little resistance Mirai encountered during her return, Mutsu must have done an effective job.

Eventually, the battle narrows down to Chie and Kaya versus Mirai. Chie manages to restore Mirai’s sanity by showing her a picture Kaya drew of the family together. While this leads to a happy ending, it feels a bit complicated. Mirai technically murdered someone through a curse and was planning to do more. Is it right to let her off without any punishment?

The usual "what are you talking about?!" moment for Chie just like she did with Namu. Though again, it's that everyone else is lacking common sense... View video page

At the very least, she should require psychological counseling, as one cannot simply switch from being "downright insane" to a "normal mother" instantly. Then again, perhaps I am overthinking this, and the series simply wanted to shift all responsibility onto the cursed wraith that Kaya eventually eliminated.

Chie confirms her position as the best character in the series, doing her best to protect Kaya and reassure her even while being chased by Mirai’s wraith form. I really liked her personality, and she served as an amazing co-protagonist. Perhaps her appeal comes from being the most normal person among the main cast.

This was the moment for me, Mirai revenge is fine, but what are you doing taking it out on Kaya?
This was the moment for me, Mirai revenge is fine, but what are you doing taking it out on Kaya?
I still think Chie is the best mother for Kaya. Let's be honest here, she did a better job than Mirai.
I still think Chie is the best mother for Kaya. Let's be honest here, she did a better job than Mirai.

Overall, the series was one of the best this season. It managed to maintain tension with the overarching mystery of the Ebisumori family while still delivering episodic segments about the various wraiths Kaya encountered and defeated with her punches.

I am curious to see what the manga focuses on now that this arc has concluded. With the primary mystery solved, I wonder if there is enough content to keep readers interested in the long run. I will give it a look in the coming weeks to see what it is all about.